North County Public Defense assists indigent defendants charged with Driving Under the Influence in Bellingham, Blaine, Everson and Sumas Municipal Courts.
In Washington State, a DUI conviction carries mandatory minimum consequences based on the breath test reading and any prior convictions for DUI or prior convictions for certain lesser charges where the original offense was DUI.
Mandatory consequences include:
There are also administrative consequences from the Washington Department of Licensing. Those include:
North County Public Defense, PLLC does NOT represent clients in administrative license revocation hearings. If you wish to contest the suspension or revocation of your license before the Department of Licensing you must contact a private attorney.
North County Public Defense, PLLC represents indigent clients charged with misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor criminal charges in Bellingham, Blaine, Everson and Sumas Municipal Courts.
A gross misdemeanor is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine.
A simple misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
North County Public Defense, PLLC represents indigent clients charged with misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor criminal domestic violence charges in Bellingham, Blaine, Everson and Sumas Municipal Courts.
In Washington State, Domestic Violence is defined as:
The broad definition of Domestic Violence includes family members such as siblings, parents, grandparents or children. The definition of Domestic Violence can also include roommates or friends when they live in the same space.
Domestic Violence charges are typically accompanied by No Contact Orders. These orders prohibit the person charged with a crime of Domestic Violence from contacting the protected party in any way. Typical prohibitions include:
It is VERY important to abide by the terms of a No Contact Order. Violating the terms of a No Contact Order is a separate crime of Domestic Violence that carries penalties up to 364 days in jail and $5,000 in fines.
It is very important to take any criminal charge seriously, and Domestic Violence charges are no exception. Washington law does not allow people to vacate (get a charge off their record) if they have more than 2 Domestic Violence convictions.